Islam  is  a  monotheistic  religious  tradition  that  developed  in  the  middle  East  in  the  7th  century.  Islam,  which  literally  means  “surrender”  or  “submission”,  was  founded  on  the  teachings  of  Prophet  Muhammad  as  an  expression  of  surrender  to  the  will  of  from  Allah  the  creator  and  sustainer  of  the  world.  Islam  expounded  beyond  its  birthplace  in  the  Arabia,  to  Africa,  Asia,  Europe  and  America.

The Quran,  the  sacred  text  of  Islam,  contains  the  teachings  of  the  Prophet  that  were  revealed  to  him  from  Allah.Essential  to  Islam  is  the  belief  that  Allah  is  one  and  true  God  with  no  partner  or  equal.  Islam  has  two  divisions  within  the  tradition  which  are  the  sunni  and  shia  of  which  they  follow  the  Quran  teachings.  Islam  is  guided  by  five  pillars  which  are  fundamental  practices.  These  five  practices  include  Shahad  which  is  the  declaration  of  faith  and  trust  that  prophases  that  there  is  only  one  God  and  that  Mohammed  is  Gods  messenger.  The  second  pillar  is  salat  which  is  the  Islamic  prayer  that  consists  of  five  daily  prayers  according  to  sunna  and  are  named  according  to  prayer  times  that  is  Fajir,  the  dawn  prayer,  Dhuhr  the noon  prayer,  Asr  the  afternoon  prayer,  Maghirb  which  is  the  evening  prayer  and  Isha  the  night  prayer. All  prayers  are  recited  while  facing  the  direction  of  the  quibla  or  kaaba  in mecca  and  form  an  important  aspect  of  Muslim  Ummah  or  union.  They  must  wash  before  prayer  which  is  called  Wudu  or  purification.  These  prayers  are  accompanied  by  a series  of  set  positions.  The  third  pillar  is  Zakat,  which  is  the  practice  of  charitable  giving  based  on  accumulated  wealth.  Sawum,  the  forth  pillar  is  concerned  with  fasting.  Fasting  during  Ramadhan  is  obligatory  but  forbidden  for  pre-pubicent  children,  the  sick,  elderly  people,  menstruating,  pregnant  and  breastfeeding  women.  Finally  we  have Hajj which  is  the  fifth  pillar  and  its  all  about  pilgrimage  that  occur  during  Islamic  month  of  dhur-hijjah  to  the  holy  city  of  mecca.


Muslim  also  celebrate  two  official  holidays  Eid Al-Fitr  and  Eid Al-Adha.  Muslims  are  also  required  to  dress  modestly  during  their  religious  practises.  Women  are  required  to  cover  their  breasts  and  heads  by  wearing  hijabs and men  they  commonly  wear  kanzus.  Muslims,  like any  other  religion  faces  various  challenges  in  their  day  to  day  life.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s